BSOD - 10.0.19042 Update after cold boot

J

jerzdabearz

Hi guys,

I'm very new to understanding Windows language and ultimately what's causing this BSOD error. I've scoured these (and other) forums to find answers or a guide, but I'm still finding myself without much knowledge, which is on me. I've decided to reach out here to see if I can get any more guidance.

Problem:

BSOD - The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x0000007e (more details to follow)

This happens once a day within about 5 minutes of booting up in the morning. This will happen regardless of whether I log in or not. The PC restarts on its own after a few moments and then I'm good to go for the rest of the day. No more BSOD until I shut down and boot back up the next day.

Specs:

Version 10.0.19042 Build 19042

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz, 3192 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 12 Logical Processor(s)

MOBO: ASUS PRIME Z390-A

BIOS Version: American Megatrends Inc. 1704, 9/21/2020

RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR48x4 > total of 32 GB RAM

GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970

GPU Driver: GeForce Game Ready Driver 461.40

Troubleshooting:

-Reviewed Reliability History > consistently 4 critical events as follows:

a). DTSAPO3Service.exe --> stopped working

b). Windows was not properly shut down

c). Windows stopped working --> The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x0000007e (0xffffffffc0000005, 0xfffff8046be250e4, 0xfffff90c932373b8, 0xfffff90c93236bf0). A dump was saved in: C:\WINDOWS\MEMORY.DMP. Report Id: a5ed50f8-905b-4f71-b83f-3b71b35fd365.

d). Windows shut down unexpectedly

-Installed WinDbg and attempted to understand the MEMORY.DMP files > the Module/Image name has changed from ntkrnlmp.exe (x3 .DMPs) to cfosspeed6.sys (x1 .DMP), seems to change about

-Followed Use the System File Checker tool to repair missing or corrupted system files to the tee and completed verification with "did not find any integrity violations."