Connecting USB devices to WSL

I’m a software engineer building tooling for Visual Studio and Visual Studio Code to support C++ embedded device development. These physical devices typically connect to a computer over USB, but we discovered we couldn’t use WSL to test our tools on Linux because it does not support USB. We weren’t alone — support for connecting physical USB devices to WSL is highly requested by the community as well.

While this functionality is still not natively available in WSL, I’m excited to announce that our summer intern, Nelson Daniel Troncoso Aldas, contributed changes to the open-source usbipd-win project to enable common developer USB scenarios like flashing an Arduino or accessing a smartcard reader.

Setup​

To get started with this functionality, first ensure you’re running Windows 11 and have installed all WSL updates. Running uname -a from within WSL should report a kernel version of 5.10.60.1 or later. You’ll need to be running a WSL 2 distro.

Install the latest release of usbipd-win.

From within WSL, install the user space tools for USB/IP and a database of USB hardware identifiers. On Ubuntu, run this command.

Code:
sudo apt install linux-tools-5.4.0-77-generic hwdata

Edit /etc/sudoers so that root can find the usbip command. On Ubuntu, run this command.

Code:
sudo visudo

Add /usr/lib/linux-tools/5.4.0-77-generic to the beginning of secure_path. After editing, the line should look similar to this.

Defaults secure_path="/usr/lib/linux-tools/5.4.0-77-generic:/usr/local/sbin:..."

At this point a service is running on Windows to share USB devices, and the necessary tools are installed in WSL to attach to shared devices.

Attaching a device​

First ensure a WSL command prompt is open. This will keep the WSL 2 lightweight VM active.

From an administrator command prompt on Windows, run this command. It will list all the USB devices connected to Windows.

Code:
usbipd wsl list